www.cowries.info
SHELL - TALK

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Identification please

Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.cowries.info Forum Index -> Identification Please
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Mickbell197

PostPosted: 20.09.2011, 21:43    Post subject: Identification please Reply with quote

Hi folks,

I'm still relatively new to collecting Cowries and therefore likely to make mistakes. I bought the following Cypraea microdon from the Shell auction site and now, after receipt, they look like minoridens to me. Who's correct?

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/41/i0000436653a.jpg/
felix
Administrator

PostPosted: 21.09.2011, 09:30    Post subject: Reply with quote

minoridens
Mickbell197

PostPosted: 21.09.2011, 14:08    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that Felix - I thought the shells looked too cylindrical for microdon.
felix
Administrator

PostPosted: 21.09.2011, 14:48    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, and they lack the banding
ferkoo

PostPosted: 27.09.2013, 18:54    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear ladies/gents!

I'm new to the forum, and recently I got a shell with a dubious ID. It's one of the cymbiums, so it might be a little off to this topic, but maybe someone can help with the ID;

Lip a bit flaring, widest part is at the anterior 1/3rd, contour is straight when looking from the side (unfiled). Columellar side has 2 strong ribs.
The tip protruding, whorls aren't visible, the lip posteriorly reaches slightly beyond the protoconch. Length 136mm, Senegal.

Tried to compare it online, but that left a bigger mess (for me) than it solved.
Label doesn't really helpful, claiming consecutively the shell is C. glans (it isn't), then C. cucumis (doubtful, I tend to C. cymbium).

Any help appreciated!
felix
Administrator